Enter your username and password here in order to log in on the website
District Heating and Cooling including Combined Heat and Power

The Programme

The Programme

IEA DHC – the hub for international DHC research.



The International Energy Agency (IEA) was established in 1974 in order to strengthen the co-operation between member countries. As an element of the International Energy Programme, the participating countries undertake co-operative actions in energy research, development and demonstration. To learn more about the relationship between the IEA Secretariat and the IEA DHC, click here. To learn more about the activities of the IEA Secretariat, see www.iea.org

The programme


The Technology Collaboration Programme on District Heating and Cooling including Combined Heat and Power was founded as the Implementing Agreement for a Programme of Research, Development, and Demonstration on District Heating and Cooling, including the integration of Combined Heat and Power in 1983. Ten countries participated in the first round of projects (Annex I). More information about previous annexes can be found in the DHC research section on this site.

Technology Collaboration Programme


The Technology Collaboration Programme on District Heating and Cooling including Combined Heat and Power, deals with the design, performance and operation of distribution systems and consumer installations. The Agreement is dedicated to helping to make district heating and cooling and combined heat and power powerful tools for energy conservation and the reduction of environmental impacts of supplying heat. This is also reflected in the IEA DHC communication strategy.

The activities


The work programme is mostly conducted through cost-shared activities. In 2017 Annex XI was completed and the final reports of the projects carried out can be downloaded here (after login). At the moment Annex XII is running; information about the ongoing projects can be found under Research Projects > Annex XII as soon as the contracts are signed. In addition to the cost-shared Annex XII two task-shared Annexes - Annex TS2 and Annex TS3 - are currently running.

National representatives


Currently there are Contracting Parties from eleven countries: Austria, Canada, China, Denmark, Germany, Finland, France, Korea, Norway, Sweden, the United Kingdom and the United States of America. Addresses of your national representatives can be found here.


Last updated: 2018-10-08

This website uses cookies

This website uses cookies to improve user experience. By using our website you consent to all cookies in accordance with our Cookie Policy.